About Us

Founded in 2005, Electric Mobility Canada is a national membership-based not-for-profit organization dedicated exclusively to the promotion of electric mobility as a readily available and important solution to Canada’s emerging energy and environmental issues.

Our new mission

To strategically accelerate the transition to electric mobility across Canada.

Our new vision

Electric* mobility is the preferred choice across all Canadian provinces & territories.
*This includes battery electric vehicles (BEVs), plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), and fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs).

Our goals

Electric Mobility Canada supports the activities of its members by:

  • Communicating legislative, policy, technical and operational matters of key interest pertaining to electric mobility to our membership. This includes identifying the actions required to meet the needs of the members and proactively communicating these needs to policy makers and other stakeholders.
  • Establishing partnerships to accelerate the adoption of electric mobility through research, demonstration projects, policies, programs and strategies to increase market penetration.
  • Acting as a resource centre for relevant and contemporary information on electric mobility from across Canada and around the globe.


2017 EMC Annual Report

To learn more about EMC, read our 2017 Annual Report detailing our accomplishments in the past twelve months.


To become a Corporate Partner of EMC, read our Corporate Partnership Brochure.

Board of Directors

2006 to 2012
Micheal Elwood – Founding Chair
2012 to 2013
Matthew Stevens – Chair
2013 to 2018
Catherine Kargas – Chair

Executive Committee

  • Chair
    Heather Ferguson, OPG
  • Vice-Chair
    France Lampron, Hydro-Québec
  • Secretary-Treasurer
    Dan Guatto, Burlington Hydro



  • George Bousioutis – Kia Canada
  • Marlene Chamandy – Ford Motor Company of Canada
  • Brookes Shean – AddÉnergie Technologies
  • Matt Stevens – FleetCarma

Energy Providers

  • Diane Robichaud – NB Power
  • Neetika Sathe – Alectra Inc.
  • Alec Tsang – BC Hydro

Fleet Managers

  • Serge Carignan – ATUQ

Not-for-Profit Organizations and Academics

  • David Corbeil – Association des véhicules électriques du Québec
  • Ian Klesmer – The Atmospheric Fund
  • Wilf Steimle – Electric Vehicle Society