The Al Cormier award is named after Electric Mobility Canada’s founder, Al Cormier, who founded EMC in 2006, one of the first known organization focused on advancing electric mobility anywhere in the world.

EMC awards this national recognition annually to an individual who is or has been a champion in advancing the electrification of transportation. The Al Cormier Award recognizes an individual’s success rather than an organization’s success and must be beyond the person’s job description and display an exceptional contribution in one or more of the following criteria:

  • Excellence or leadership in electric mobility
  • Exceptional project or long-term initiative
  • Lifetime achievement
  • EMC association leadership
  • Substantially demonstrated that he or she is an innovator, leader, pioneer and / or initiator of significance in the realm of electric mobility

2024 Award

Nominations are now closed. Thank you to those who submitted.

The award ceremony will be held at EVVE 2024 in Halifax from September 10-13. We look forward to seeing you there!


  • An individual based in Canada who has made an impact in Canada or globally as outlined above
  • Not necessarily an EMC member
  • May be awarded post posthumously


  • Nominations may be sponsored by any EMC member in good standing in any category

Previous Recipients

2010 – Al Cormier (1st recipient)
2011 – Serge Roy, Hydro-Québec
2012 – Pierre Lavallée, CEVEQ
2013 – Steve Dallas, Toronto Electric
2014 – Christina Ianniciello, BC Government
2015 – Mark Dubois-Phillips, Powertech Labs
2016- No recipient
2017 – Simon-Pierre Rioux, AVEQ
2018 – Matt Stevens, Cross Chasm
2019 – Sylvain Castonguay, Nordresa/Dana TM4
2020 – Catherine Kargas, MARCON-Miratech
2021 – Cara Clairman, Plug’n Drive
2022 – Marc Bédard, Lion Electric
2023 – The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry