University of Waterloo wins our annual Student Competition

During the Award Luncheon at EV2017VÉ in Markham, Ontario, the University of Waterloo was announced as the winning team of the 7th annual EMC Student Competition, sponsored by FLO. This is the second time the University of Waterloo has won this distinction. Matt Stevens, President of FleetCarma and alumni of Waterloo University, accepted the prize on behalf of the winning team.

Students were asked to present a short-term plan to make their campus ready for EVs. The plan was to include all aspects of transportation electrification, such as charging infrastructure, electrification of campus fleet, EV outreach to students, professors, and staff, and grid load management.

The panel of judges, comprised of Simon Tuong, General Manager of FLO, Yvan Lupien, formerly at the City of Edmonton, and Olivier Trescases, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto, were impressed by the holistic, and realistic approach of the team. The judges selected the University of Waterloo over Sherbrooke University and Red River College.

The winning team will receive a FLO charging station to install on their campus.