Day 1 – Nov 9, 2020  |  Policy Day

Electro-mobilize Canadians!

Conference Room (Times in Eastern Time Zone)

9:00am | Words of Welcome & Keynote Address

9:00am – 9:20am

Getting Mobilized for a Canadian EV Industry Strategy

Daniel Breton, President and CEO / Electric Mobility Canada in conversation with the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

9:20am | Plenary session

9:20am – 10:30am

Recent Announcements from the Government of Canada

Moderator : Daniel Breton — President and CEO Electric Mobility Canada

  • Theresa Dekker — Vice President, Corporate Business Development & Strategy / Ontario Power Generation
  • John Weigelt — National Technology Officer / Microsoft Canada
  • Charles Todd — Senior Director, Investment / Canada Infrastructure Bank
10:30am | Corporate Presentation

10:30am – 10:40am

More information to come.

10:40am - 10:55am | Break
10:55am | Corporate Presentation

10:55am – 11:00am

More information to come.

11:00am | Panel #1 | Canada and the World: What’s Happening in Terms of Government Policies Supporting Electric Mobility

11:00am – 12:00pm

Moderator : Mitchell Armstrong — Project Engineer / Environment and Climate Change Canada

  • Travis Allan  — Vice-president of Public Affairs and General Counsel / Flo
  • Philippe Vangeel — Secretary-General / The European Association for Electromobility
12:00pm | Corporate Presentation By Alectra

12:00pm – 12:05pm

12:05pm | Health Break: Power Charger Mindfulness & Stretching Sponsored by Alectra Utilities

12:05pm – 12:20pm

What to expect at ‘Mindfulness Powercharger’: In this short session, the team will be guided through some gentle stretches and breathing
techniques. No equipment, except your work chair is required.

12:20pm - 12:50pm | Lunch break
12:50pm | Corporate Presentation

12:50pm – 1:00pm

More information to come.

1:00pm | Panel #2 | The Case for a Canadian EV Industry Strategy: Making it Work for Canadian Businesses and Workers

1:00pm – 2:00pm

Moderator: Bruce Lourie — President / Ivey Foundation

  • Angelo DiCaro — Director, Research Department / Unifor
  • Genevieve Dufour  — Professor / Law Faculty at Sherbrooke University
  • Ben Sharpe  — Senior Researcher and Canada Lead / The International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT)
2:00pm | Corporate Presentation

2:00pm – 2:10pm

More information to come.

2:10pm - 2:25pm | Break
2:25pm | Corporate Presentation by OPG

2:25pm – 2:30pm

2:30pm | Panel #3 | Made in Canada Electric Vehicles and Components: How to do it

2:30pm – 3:30pm

  • Moe Kabbara — Consultant,Clean Mobility / Dunsky Energy Consulting
  • Warren Ali — Senior Vice President of Innovation / APMA-Automotive Parts Manufacturers Association
  • Sarah Houde — President and CEO / Propulsion Québec
3:30pm | Corporate Presentation

3:30pm – 3:40pm

More information to come.

3:40pm - 3:55pm | Break
3:55pm | Corporate Presentation

3:55pm – 4:00pm

More information to come.

4:00pm | Panel #4 | How to Accelerate the Building and Deployment of EV Infrastructure

4:00pm – 5:00pm

This event was made possible with the support of our sponsors:

Share This

Theresa Dekker

Vice President, Corporate Business Development & Strategy - Ontario Power Generation

VP of Corporate Business Development and Strategy at Ontario Power Generation (OPG), accountable for development of OPG’s corporate strategy and various elements of execution. This involves understanding how the energy industry is evolving and how OPG can continue to be a leader in that transformation. Ms. Dekker is proud to oversee OPG’s Electrification Development team and sit on the board of the Ivy Charging Network, as Co-President.

Charles Todd

Senior Director, Investment / Canada Infrastructure Bank

Charles has significant experience providing commercial and legal support to large construction and P3 projects across Canada. Most recently, Charles was Contracts Director for Crosslinx Transit Solutions, the consortium delivering the Eglinton Crosstown LRT, where he led the team responsible for all contractual aspects of the project. Prior to his mandate at Crosslinx, Charles was a senior lawyer and Commercial Director at Aecon Group Inc., where he supported Aecon’s most complex pursuits and projects. Charles started his career practicing corporate and commercial law at a large international law firm.

Travis Allan

Vice-president of Public Affairs and General Counsel / Flo

Travis Allan is VP, Public Affairs & General Counsel at FLO. Travis is a board member at EMC and chair of the Government Relations Committee. He has been selected as one of Canada's leading energy lawyers by Who's Who Legal and served as contributing editor at the International Energy Law Review (published by Sweet & Maxwell) and adjunct faculty at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law.

Genievieve Dufour

Professor / Law Faculty at Sherbrooke University

Full Professor, Faculty of Law, Université de Sherbrooke and member of the Quebec Bar. Her research focuses on free trade issues as well as the interactions between trade, environmental law and human rights. She collaborates with many companies in the field of international trade law. Recipient of the Tremplin prize for her exceptional contribution to research, she is president of the Quebec Society of International Law.

Ben Sharpe

Senior Researcher and Canada Lead / The International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT)

Dr. Ben Sharpe is a Senior Researcher in the ICCT’s Heavy-Duty Vehicle Program and also serves as Canada Lead for the organization. He is currently doing technical analyses to support ongoing policy development for reducing fuel consumption, greenhouse gas emissions and criteria pollutants from on-road vehicles. He holds a B.S. and M.S. in Civil Engineering from Stanford University and a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from the University of California, Davis.

David Peterson

Director, Fleet Solutions / ChargePoint

David leads ChargePoint’s Fleet Solutions in North America focused on developing market-leading products and services for light, medium and heavy-duty electric vehicle fleets. David joined ChargePoint from Nissan where he led teams addressing workplace charging, urban fast charging and charging network roaming for LEAF drivers, as well as working on innovative mobility pilots.

Raegan Bond

Partner and Strategy Lead / Dunsky

As a member of Dunsky’s Executive Team, Raegan is responsible for leading a broad range of projects in the realms of energy efficiency, demand response and sustainable mobility, for providing internal organizational leadership and for maintaining and growing Dunsky’s presence as industry thought leaders. A recognized leader in energy efficiency, Raegan is currently Chair of the Association of Energy Services Professionals (AESP).

Daniel Carr

Head, Smart Cities / Alectra

Daniel Carr is an experienced project developer with expertise in innovative, customer-facing energy program management, strategy development and policy advocacy. In his current role at Alectra Utilities as Head, Smart Cities, he develops and leads projects that bring new distributed energy technologies and concepts into practice, with a focus on electric mobility, demand response and electricity pricing. He is also Chair of the Board of the Clean Air Partnership, a Toronto-based environmental non-profit organization.

Maxime Charron

President / Leading Ahead Energy

Maxime founded LeadingAhead Energy (LAE) with the objective of leaving the world in better shape than he found it. He always had a business and environmental mindset and through LAE has managed to combine the two in advising businesses on their investment in green technologies. Over the last few years, Maxime has focused his work on helping local, national and international companies deliver their electric vehicle charging infrastructure strategies.